Old Rappahannock County, Virginia, Records

Old Rappahannock County, Virginia, Records

June 16, 1673

I, Elizabeth Butler, of the Parish of Sittingbourne and County of Rappahannock, do make this my last Will and Testament.  I bequeath unto my son, Francis Slaughter; I give and bequeath unto my daughter Sarah; I bequeath unto my son John Catlett; I give unto my daughter Elizabeth; I bequeath unto my son William; I give unto my sons John and William Catlett a gray mare of my deceased husband John Catlett; I give unto my son Francis; I appoint my husband Amory Butler, executor.  My cousins Captain Thomas Humphrey and Catherine Booth.

July 20, 1673

I, William Gray, make my last Will and Testament; I give unto my two sons John Gray and Warwick Gray; I give unto my sons William Gray and Abner Gray; I give unto my sons-in-law Toby and Thomas Ingram; I give to my daughter Mary Gray; I give to my grandchild Elizabeth Bowler; I appoint my son-in-law James Bowler and  my well-beloved wife, Maudlin Gray, executor and executrix

August 28, 1673

I, John Prosser, of the Golden Vale in the Parish of Sittingbourne do make this my last Will and Testament; my will is to be buried by my first wife, Martha; I give to my wife that is now Margaret, five hundred acres of land; I give to my eldest son John Prosser; I give to my second son Samuel Prosser; I give to my two sons jointly Roger Prosser and Anthony Prosser; I give to my sons-in-law Robert Goff and Thomas Goff.

September 27, 1673

I, Thomas Gaines, of the County of Rappahannock do give unto John Gaines, my son, one mare colt and appoint my brother-in-law William Johnson in trust.

November 17, 1673

I, John Cheney, for the love and good will and affection I have and bear towards my god son, John Williams, Jr., the son of John Williams, Sr., of the County of Rappahannock, give one brown cow.

December 1, 1673

I, Dennis Swillivant, do make my last Will and Testament; I bequeath unto my son Dennis Swillivant; I give unto my son Daniel Swillivant; I bequeath unto my wife Joan; I give unto my daughter Sarah, wife of Henry Linton; and I give my grandson, Anthony Linton.

December 12, 1673

I, John Cole, of the County of Rappahannock, planter, with the consent of my wife, Anne Cole, and Margaret Gantlett, my sister, sell land sold unto William Gantlett, deceased, and so left by his last Will and Testament unto his four daughters.

January 7, 1673/74

Mr. John Ryman gave to David, the son of James Coghill, a cow; to James Coghill at the same time; gave Margaret Coghill a heifer.

January 30, 1673/74

The last Will and Testament of Henry Peters.  I bequeath unto the two girls, Elizabeth Walker and Mary Peters; unto John Allen, my wife’s son; to my beloved wife Jane Peters.

Any thoughts?

