James Jolly – Fleming County, Kentucky, Will

James Jolly is my husband’s grandfather – but we know so very little about him.  He supposedly married Esther Myra Hertz in Kansas City, Missouri, about 1920/1921.  After their son, Rex, was born in 1922, James left and never returned.  We do know that James Jolly was from western Kentucky, possibly the Paducah area.  Esther sent many letters begging him to come back – but they were always returned – unread.  A year later she died of tuberculosis – or a broken heart – and Rex was adopted.  Thus the shortened version of why we are now Brown’s instead of Jolly’s!

One of the few pictures we have of James Jolly. On the back is written ‘Jim taken on his birthday 1922′.

I don’t know that the James Jolly, whose will is listed below, is any relation – but we always copy any Jolly records we find – just in case one day there is a clue we can follow!  How nice it would be to know about James Jolly and his family!

Fleming County, Kentucky

Wills, Book M – 1864-1871

I, James Jolly, of the County of Fleming and State of Kentucky, do hereby make my last will and testament in manner and form following, that is to say

First, that I give to my son Thomas Jolly, the sum of fifteen acres of land situated in the north-west corner of my farm, so is to include the house he now lives in.

Secondly, that I will and bequeath to my son Samuel Jolly the amount of fifteen acres of land situated in the south west corner of my farm so as to include the house that he now lives in.

Thirdly, that I will to my daughter Sarah Flora the sum of thirty dollars for waiting on me during my sickness.

Fourthly, that I will and bequeath to my wife Nelly Jolly the residue of my farm, to have the use and control of during her lifetime, and after death I desire it to be equally divided among my several children which I give to them, their heirs, executors, administrations and assigns forever.  In witness whereof I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal, this the 8th day of March in the year eighteen hundred and seventy.

                                                                               James Jolly

Attest:  Milton M. Grimes, Matthew R. McDonell, Jesse B. Sooke

Rec. testament of writing purporting to be the last will and testament of James Jolly, deceased, was produced and proven in open court by the oaths of Jesse B. Sooke, Milton M. Grimes and Matthew R. McDonell, attesting witnesses thereto to be the last will and testament of said decedent, signed, acknowledged, sealed and delivered in their presence as such by him, whereupon the same is recorded as the last will and testament of said decedent and is ordered to be recorded.

                                                           Joseph Throop, Clerk

Any thoughts?

